MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS MUNICIPAL WATER DISTRICT OF ORANGE COUNTY January 5, 2017

At 6:00 p.m., President Osborne called to order the Special Meeting of the Municipal Water District of Orange County Board of Directors Board Room at the District facilities, 18700 Ward Street, Fountain Valley, California. Fountain Valley Councilwoman Cheryl Brothers led the Pledge of Allegiance.

MWDOC DIRECTORS

Brett R. Barbre Larry Dick Joan Finnegan (absent) Wayne Osborne Megan Yoo Schneider Sat Tamaribuchi Jeffery M. Thomas

ALSO PRESENT

Larry McKenney Elizabeth Swift Doug Davert Seymour Everett John Sears Lisa Ohlund Scott Goldman Mark Monin Jose Vergara **Cheryl Brothers** Steve Nagel Barbara Delgleize Lyn Semeta **Brian Ragland** Mary Aileen Mathias Doug Reinhart Peer Swan Michele Steggell Jim Atkinson Jim Fisler Stacy Taylor Scott Colton **Richard Fiore** Don Froelich Brian Probolsky Joone Lopez Jake Vollebreat Teresa Smith Chuck Gibson Jim Leach

STAFF PRESENT

Robert Hunter, General Manager Karl Seckel, Assistant General Manager Maribeth Goldsby, Board Secretary Harvey De La Torre, Prin. Water Res. Planner Joe Berg, Water Use Eff. Programs Mgr. Jonathan Volzke, Public Affairs Manager Kevin Hostert, Water Resources Analyst Heather Baez, Government Affairs Manager

MWDOC MET Director City of Buena Park East Orange County Water District El Toro Water District El Toro Water District El Toro Water District City of Fountain Valley City of Fountain Valley City of Huntington Beach City of Huntington Beach City of Huntington Beach **Irvine Ranch Water District** Irvine Ranch Water District **Irvine Ranch Water District** City of La Palma Mesa Water Mesa Water Mesa Water Moulton Niguel Water District Moulton Niguel Water District **Moulton Niguel Water District** Moulton Niguel Water District **Moulton Niguel Water District Moulton Niguel Water District** City of Orange Santa Margarita Water District Santa Margarita Water District

Schelly Sustarsic Frank Bryant Greg Mills Jerry Vilander Dennis Erdman **Rick Erkeneff** Bill Green Andy Brunhart Glen Acosta Stephen Dopudja Edward Mandich Mike Safranski Don Chadd **Brooke Jones** Al Nederhood J. Wayne Miller Marc Marcantonio Mike Balsamo Bryan Starr Heather Stratman Liz Mendelson-Goossens City of Seal Beach Serrano Water District Serrano Water District Serrano Water District South Coast Water District South Coast Water District South Coast Water District South Coast Water District Trabuco Canyon Water District Trabuco Canvon Water District Trabuco Canyon Water District Trabuco Canvon Water District Trabuco Canyon Water District Yorba Linda Water District Yorba Linda Water District Yorba Linda Water District Yorba Linda Water District **Building Industry Association Orange County Business Council** ACC-OC San Diego County Water Authority

PUBLIC COMMENTS

No public comments were received.

Following a brief introduction, President Osborne invited introductions around the room.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

INPUT OR QUESTIONS ON MET ISSUES FROM THE MEMBER AGENCIES/MET DIRECTOR REPORTS REGARDING MET COMMITTEE PARTICIPATION

No comments were received, however President Osborne stated that Mr. Chuck Gibson (Santa Margarita Water District) would be commenting at the end of the meeting regarding the benefits of combined legislative advocacy efforts in Washington, DC.

DISCUSSION WITH REPRESENTATIVES FROM MWDOC'S MEMBER AGENCIES REGARDING KEY REGIONAL ISSUES AND KEY ORANGE COUNTY ISSUES, INCLUDING THE GOVERNOR BROWN'S UPDATED DROUGHT REGULATIONS, THE CALIFORNIA WATER FIX, AND WATER SUPPLY CONDITIONS AND ISSUES.

President Osborne stated that the evening would consist of a short presentation by General Manager Robert Hunter, and the remainder of the meeting would consist of open dialogue/questions between the Board and audience. The following topics were covered:

Water Supply Conditions Governor Brown's Updated Drought Regulations The California Water Fix Mr. Hunter began the evening with a presentation and overview of the current water supply conditions as well as an overview of the Governor's updated drought regulations.

Discussion ensued regarding issues surrounding the supply/demand due to conservation regulations, how conservation may affect the approval of the California Water Fix, the impact the regulations and conservation have on water prices which, in turn, impact both the building industry and lower income residents, and the need to change the dialogue regarding water rights in order to protect local control.

Mr. Hunter then provided an overview of the status of the California Water Fix (Fix) and considerable discussion was held regarding the projected cost of the Fix, how this cost compares to the cost of desalination, the length of time projected to complete the Fix (if approved), and the importance of the Fix to improving regional supplies.

Mr. Hunter distributed copies of MWDOC's Resolution No. 2039, Supporting the California Water Fix and California Eco Restore, and encouraged all in attendance to have their agencies/cities approve similar resolutions.

Responding to inquiries regarding how to learn more about the Fix, Mr. Hunter advised that the Department of Water Resources web site has useful fact sheets and videos. MWDOC staff agreed to send a list of resources on how the Fix would benefit Orange County to those in attendance.

It was suggested that an overview of the Colorado River supplies be presented at the next Elected Officials Forum.

Mr. Chuck Gibson (Santa Margarita Water District), then highlighted MWDOC's legislative advocacy efforts in Washington, DC (in obtaining funding for Orange County projects, such as the Water Infrastructure Improvements for the National (WIIN)) and encouraged both MWDOC and its member agencies to work collaboratively on applying for WIIN funds (with MWDOC taking the lead). He suggested a work group be formed to address these issues. It was noted that this issue would be presented to MWDOC's Public Affairs & Legislation \\ommittee for further discussion.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Board, President Osborne adjourned the meeting at 8:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Maribeth Goldsby, Secretary